RoHS is the acronym used to refer to the European Union (EU) Directive 2002/95/EC on the Restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment

The RoHS directive currently lists 6 materials as being restricted.


Lead (Pb)
Mercury (Hg)
Cadmium (Cd)
Hexavalent Chromium (Cr-VI)
Polybrominated Biphenyls (PBB)
Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDE)

Maximum Concentration

0.1% by weight
0.1% by weight
0.01% by weight
0.1% by weight
0.1% by weight)
0.1% by weight

Categories of electrical and electronic equipment covered by this Directive
  • Large Household Appliances
  • Small Household Appliances
  • IT and Telecommunications Equipment
  • Consumer Equipment
  • Lighting Equipment
  • Electrical and Electronic Tools (with the exception of large-scale stationary industrial tools)
  • Toys, Leisure and Sports Equipment
  • Medical Devices (with the exception of all implanted and infected products)
  • Monitoring and Control Instruments
  • Monitoring and Control Instruments
  • LAutomatic Dispensers.